OKโฆ Youโre playing in a doubleโs league match, and itโs your serve. You served the ball, and it hit your partner.
In the case of my students in the above video, the ball didnโt hit the serverโs partner but her partnerโs racquet, knocking it out of her hand.
Of course, this was practice, but what would happen next if it were a USTA match?
Once the initial surprise and guilt (and perhaps a bit of laughter) subside, what do you do? Was this just a harmless accident and you serve again as if nothing happened? Or is it a chance to learn and understand the rules better? Well, itโs me talking, so you know itโs the latter, lol.
In your ITF rulebook (the one you get at the beginning of every season of league tennis) there is actually a rule regarding hitting your partner with your serve. (can only imagine the disputes at a USTA league match, lol.)
Rule #19 states:
โIf a server hits his/her own doubles partner with the serve, itโs a fault.โ
Did you know this? Whether the ball hits the player or the playerโs racquet, it is considered a fault. If this happened on the first serve, youโll have one serve remaining for the point. If it happened on the second serve, you lose the point.
Rogue serves hitting doubles partners happens more often than you think, which is just one of the many, many reasons why you need a copy of the tennis rule book in your bag at all times. It also shows why itโs NOT a good idea to look back at your partnerโฆ OUCH!
Play hard and have fun, and remember โ you donโt have to be a pro to train like a pro!